Pope Francis Creates 21 New Cardinals

Source: National Catholic Register

In a consistory on August 27, Pope Francis said that he would create 21 new cardinals. The Pope made the announcement on May 29 from a window overlooking St. Peter’s Square.

The complete list is as follows:

  • Arthur Roche, prefect of the Congregation for Divine Worship and the Discipline of the Sacraments (United Kingdom)
  • Lazzaro You Heung-sik, Prefect for the Congregation for Clergy (South Korea)
  • Fernando Vergez Alzaga, President of the Pontifical Commission for Vatican City State (Spain)
  • Archbishop Jean-Marc Aveline, of Marseille (France)
  • Archbishop Peter Okpaleke, of Ekwulobia (Nigeria)
  • Archbishop Leonardo Ulrich Steiner, of Manaus (Brazil)
  • Archbishop Filipe Neri António Sebastião of Rosário Ferrão, of Goa e Damão (India)
  • Bishop Robert Walter McElroy, of San Diego (United States)
  • Archbishop Virgilio Do Carmo Da Silva, of Dili (East Timor)
  • Bishop Oscar Cantoni, of Como (Italy).
  • Archbishop Anthony Poola, of Hyderabad (India)
  • Archbishop Paulo Cezar Costa,, of Brasília (Brazil)
  • Bishop Richard Kuuia Baawobr M. Afr, of Wa (Ghana)
  • Archbishop William Goh Seng Chye, of Singapore (Singapore)
  • Archbishop Adalberto Martínez Flores, of Asunción (Paraguay)
  • Archbishop Giorgio Marengo, Prefect of Ulaanbaatar (Mongolia)

Pope Francis has created 101 cardinals from 58 countries at seven consistories since his 2013 election. The last consistory to create new cardinals was held on Nov. 28, 2020.

After the 2020 consistory, the Pope appointed 73 of the members of the College of Cardinals eligible to vote for a future conclave. There are currently 117 cardinal electors; 67 (52%) have been appointed by Pope Francis. 

Source: National Catholic Register